Everything RIGHT with Batman v Superman

I went to see Batman v Superman this week with four people. Talking about it when we came out with two others, three hated it, two enjoyed it and one was Ashley who has no opinion on any film unless it’s Monty Python.

I loved it. Watching Dan Murrell talk about the death of Superman on Screen Junkies is making me a little less excited looking back, as his/the comics way sounds way cooler.

I’ve seen and heard and read almost universally mixed to negative things about the movie – and it is a bit of a mixed bag, it’s not perfect by any means – but I am an optimistic person and won’t be including any of that stuff in here, it’s already everywhere else.

Rather than doing a big long pro review I’m gonna go the way of my Force Awakens review and do some hopefully snappy quick points from what I recall of the movie that I only saw two days ago…

Spoilers ahead!

Batman was incredible. Ben Affleck from the opening sequence as Bruce Wayne was fantastic. Can’t wait for more of him doing bat things.

Wonder Woman was awesome, we didn’t see much of her because it’s Batman v Superman. We got a couple of shots of her looking amazing, interacting with Bruce and battering Doomsday. Her movie should be a good watch.

The fight scene between Superman and Batman was one of the best fight scenes I’ve ever seen ever. I’m aware already that I’m in the minority just by writing this post so I may as well commit. It didn’t go on too long, and not being the biggest Superman fan I loved watching Batman kick the crap out of him.

The Batmobile looked really cool, one thing I haven’t seen mentioned elsewhere. It was sleeker than Nolan’s and set itself apart from those films. The suit Batman wears to fight Superman is cool, and when the cowl broke it was epic looking.

Lex Luthor was the crazier, zanier other side of the coin to the deadpan protagonists, and it worked really well for me. I know most people thought he was awful, but my friends who liked him thought he was the best part of the whole thing. I wouldn’t go that far but he did a far better job than the trailers suggested.

Superman was good. As I said earlier I’m not his biggest fan so maybe the fact that he wasn’t playing as big a part as Batman was good for me.

Batman’s origins were covered in the first scene. Yes they dropped back into it a couple of times but at least we don’t have to sit through another origin story for a solo Batman in the future, fingers crossed.

The actual performances. Affleck, Cavill, Eisenberg, Gadot. All the major players put in good to great performances, which always helps.

Batman is older, and relies more on his detective work and intelligence than Bale’s Batman did. Considering he can’t stand up to Superman physically, this is a good thing. A lot of these points are Batman related… Batman.

People complained a lot about the dream scenes. Well, the Omega scene. So there. The rest of them are a fair price to pay, that was awesome.

That’s about all I can think of right now. I’ll add more as I go, including this message that I’ll add more as I go. I take back what I said, that was such a pro review. Give me a call Empire.

I enjoyed this movie more than Man of Steel. I enjoyed it more than I might enjoy just another Marvel movie right now, just because it had such a different tone that really made it it’s own thing. It’s a great change of pace and I think once the DC slate starts rolling out more focused films it’ll provide a good balance from the lighter cheesier Marvel films.

Good start DC!

Have a nice day, bang bang! – Cactus Jack

Tags: , , , , , ,

About Darren Hyland

If I don't see you, good afternoon good evening and goodnight! Check the About Darren page for a bit more on me.

Leave a Reply

