Premier League table prediction

My transfer series went a bit cold recently, since I’ve been busy about every Friday Saturday. So with the Prem starting up again tomorrow I thought I would put together my own table, which turned out to be harder than I thought when I got to around 11th. Here is my lineup, and my reasoning for each.

  1. Chelsea. Can’t see past Mourinho coming back and making an impact. Hazard should be even better this season, and Jose will surely iron out the defensive wobbles. If they get a Makelele type holder, they’ll definitely be favourites.
  2. Man Utd. Hoping Zaha will continue improving along with Welbeck and Cleverley, while avoiding another defensive injury crisis. Got to have faith. City have spent, but I think we’ll get in one more quality player this summer. Wonder why they took the number 7 shirt off Valencia…
  3. Man City. I’m not sure if the players they’ve bought really improve the quality of the first XI, but they must have the strongest squad in the league. If Navas gets a run of games and links up with Sevilla pal Negredo they could win the title, but feasibly so could any of the top 6.
  4. Arsenal. I think Arsenal will get some more quality in and be able to hold on to their usual top 4 place. If they buy the right quality in the right positions they could go higher. I also have a feeling they will go far in the Champions League, maybe a semi-final this year.
  5. Liverpool. They seem intent on keeping that massively talented but hugely flawed Uruguayan of theirs. However, the man of their season for me will be Coutinho. I still can’t see them cracking the top 4, but they are heading the right way.
  6. Spurs. I feel like Bale will go late on in the window, leaving Tottenham a dimension short in terms of Champions League qualification. Without him they go back to being a firm top 6 team, but not world beaters.
  7. West Brom. Bit of a long shot this one, but I think the continuity West Brom have had will benefit them. Anelka is probably the best free transfer of the season, and a fine way to send Peter Odemwingie on his bike. Add him to Brunt and Long, and they’re a threat to any team.
  8. Everton. New manager, remains to be seen if Fellaini and Baines will be summoned by Moyes, Everton’s season is going to be a bit similar to United. He was there over ten years, and did such an amazing job that Everton are expected to compete this season.
  9. Newcastle. No European shenanigans to distract Newcastle from climbing back up the table this year. Confident they won’t get into the Europa League, but I predict a top half finish and a decent FA Cup run. They’ve got rid of some driftwood and brought in decent players.
  10. Swansea. Not sure which way Swansea’s season is going to go at this point. I do fear they will get something out of their first game against us, but I fancy a few teams to get under their passing skin and neutralise their flowing midfield. Still have enough to stay well away from danger.
  11. West Ham. Surprised at how well they did last season, and with players like Downing in they should be able to replicate that form. Keep Carroll fit and they’ll be fine, starting with a good result against Cardiff. Like most of the bottom half teams they need home wins.
  12. Fulham. Having just signed Darren Bent Fulham have got plenty of goal power. With Bent accompanying new keeper Stekelenburg to London they will stay safe, but another club in the process of building towards the top half. Let’s see what Adel Taarabt can do given another chance in the top flight.
  13. Southampton. I’m a big fan of Southampton. They have quality young full backs in Clyne and Shaw, a top class big man in Lambert, and a proper engine in Schneiderlein. They’ve spent big, and after taking a few big scalps last year will be looking to iron out their inconsistencies.
  14. Norwich. I hope for my fantasy football team’s sake that Norwich keep their defence as resolute as last year. With van Wolfswinkel and Hooper added, and Fer earmarked as top class, Norwich should stay up comfortably. John Ruddy should be given a real England chance.
  15. Villa. They’ve kept Benteke, it remains to be seen whether he is a one season wonder. Their young defenders are one season older and one year more experienced. It was such a good thing for the teenagers that they managed to stay up last season, they will be better for it.
  16. Sunderland. I worry for Sunderland. Di Canio has brought in hundreds of new players and his new regime might help in the long run. In terms of this season though, they will be down at the bottom fighting the drop again, I can’t see them being stronger than the 15 teams I’ve placed above them.
  17. Cardiff. The only promoted team I fancy to stay up. Caulker is a top 4 defender in the making, and Bellamy still has a job to do at the highest level. The pace they play at and the real financial intent they are showing just says to me they are the most prepared for the step up.
  18. Palace. I have Palace coming close, bit not quite making it. Losing Zaha will be an obvious blow, and while they have spent money, players like Dwight Gayle are unproven. Ian Holloway has experience, but I’m not sure he has the resources to avoid a second relegation.
  19. Stoke. It feels like their year to go. It seemed like they were one of the untouchable teams since their promotion, but Wigan proved last year that there are no guarantees. I think getting rid of Pulis was a bad move, replacing him with Mark Hughes a worse one.
  20. Hull. I have missed having Hull in the Premiership, but how they can stay up in such a competitive league is beyond me. I think they will bring some entertainment, but ultimately fall to too many defeats at home. Tom Huddlestone won’t be enough to see them safe.

Can’t wait to compare this to the real thing in May, who knows how wildly wrong I’ll be. The bottom 12 could be in any combination, such is the nature of our awesome league.

Have a nice day, bang bang! – Cactus Jack

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About Darren Hyland

If I don't see you, good afternoon good evening and goodnight! Check the About Darren page for a bit more on me.

Leave a Reply

