Musical discoveries

This is going to be a very short post, but I had to do something different since I’ve only had my regular weekly things out the last couple of weeks.

Basically, I am a man of many musical preferences. I’m not entirely sure where I get it from to be honest, where does anyone get their musical taste from?

Anyway, the other day I was thinking about how I only have one or two songs by a certain band on my iPod, and realised a couple of them got there through other means than listening to the radio or albums.

These first two I heard many many years ago, as you will see from the references to where I heard them.

Kasabian – Club Foot

PES. Yes before I took my current job as FIFA pro I used to be a PES player. It just used to be better! That’s the reason I play with alternate controls these days on FIFA, that and the fact I’m left-handed. I had every Pro Evo until 5, which I think this song was on. Nothing has yet beaten FIFA 2000 though.

 

Papa Roach – Blood Brothers

I picked this song up from another awesome old PlayStation game, Tony Hawk’s Pro Skater 2. Not sure entirely why Papa Roach and various other songs played throughout the entire city as you skated around, but it made the game more fun. Maybe we were listening through our skater’s headphones to the same six songs over and over…

 

These next three songs I’ve picked up in the last year or so, so while Kasabian and Papa Roach now feature heavily on my iPod, these ones sit all alone, poor mites.

Swiss Lips – U Got The Power

Right now this and Pompeii by Bastille are my two frequently played songs. I first heard this on a BBC Three advert for the Women’s Euro 2013 football tournament. An odd channel to find football, an odd way to find a good song.

 

AWOLNATION – Sail

This one started off as a 10 second outro on FIFA Youtuber Calfreezy’s videos. I wondered for a few weeks what on earth it was, and wasn’t sure it was an actual song at first. Then through reading many comments over many videos I finally checked it out. It’s weird, but a good song.

 

Five for Fighting – Chances

I heard this first about two years ago when Alex and I started watching wrestling again for some reason. Shawn Michaels was going into the Hall of Fame, and I was very excited as he was like the best wrestler ever when I watched it when I was little. For the montage of his induction they used this song, and it was so epic I needed it.

 

Ah, memories of Tony Hawk and wrestling being cool coming flooding back as I put these videos in. That HBK one is well worth a watch for anyone who used to watch it back in the 90’s and 00’s.

Turns out to be a decent length post, make a liar out of myself why don’t I.

I have more lists of varying sizes at this link here, and more music posts here.

Have a nice day, bang bang! – Cactus Jack

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About Darren Hyland

If I don't see you, good afternoon good evening and goodnight! Check the About Darren page for a bit more on me.

Leave a Reply

