Gaslight Anthem were awesome. Again.

Just back in from Manchester, via taking my mum into town, racked up another 300 miles or so since yesterday.

Was a really good night, getting to Manchester was surprisingly easy, as was finding our way to the gig. Parking was a bit of an issue, but we were out before the multi-story closed so all is well.

The support band, which as usual I forget the name of, were okay. They were just a guitarist and a drummer, and the songs didn’t sound bad. The drummer’s singing and wailing on the other hand, did. The guitarist did do really well when his guitar unplugged though, kept it cool.

Then Gaslight Anthem came on to Kickstart My Heart, which was pretty awesome. They rattled through four or five songs before engaging with the crowd, so I was a bit worried they weren’t going to. When Brian Fallon started talking though, dividing the crowd up into United and City fans and then ribbing everyone, he became my new favourite cool guy.

Imagine this, with an awesome trilby.

Every song something happened that made him either smile or just start laughing in the middle of a verse. He also went on some fun ramblings that are always fun to hear, I think they are what makes a really good gig. If I want to hear a bunch of songs played in a row I’ll put iTunes on.

This was the first gig I’d been to in 18 months, and I really loved it being back in a little arena with a few hundred other proper fans. Seeing them at Leeds was always going to be different since there was a whole lot more space around full of casual fans who had just dropped in.

Oh, and they finished off their encore with Baba O’Reilly.

Didn’t play Mae though, if Jess and I had a song it would probably be that for me, so I was a bit upset, but we listened to it in the car on the way back.

The same things that always annoy me at concerts annoyed me again, but they are for a less happy post than this.

Thank you to Jess for the tickets once again!

Have a nice day, bang bang! – Cactus Jack

Tags: , , , , , ,

About Darren Hyland

If I don't see you, good afternoon good evening and goodnight! Check the About Darren page for a bit more on me.

Leave a Reply

