A list: Top 22 Albums, 11-1

Part two of my big ol’ album list is done. Upon putting dates on all the entries to part one, which is here, and this one, I realised that only three of them come from outside the 2000-09 decade, and only five are British.

Never mind, onwards with number 11.

11. City of Evil – Avenged Sevenfold (2005)

Seize the Day, Trashed and Scattered, Sidewinder

The first A7x album to wander away from screamy metalcore, and I am forever grateful. Most of 2008 was spent with this on.

10. All We Know Is Falling – Paramore (2005)

Pressure, Emergency, Here We Go Again

Has to be here, it was the reason I went to my first gig. Plus when you’re a 14 year old boy how can you not like it? Exactly.

9. Handwritten – The Gaslight Anthem (2012)

“45”, Mae, Mulholland Drive

The only album on the list from this decade, I bought it before last year’s Leeds fest and now it rarely leaves the CD player in my car.

8. The Eminem Show – Eminem (2002)

Square Dance, Sing For The Moment, Business

Eminem was massive when I was getting into music, and this is just his best album. Encore was good, but this is great.

7. Definitely Maybe – Oasis (1994)

Up In the Sky, Digsy’s Dinner, Slide Away

I feel a strange sense of pride to share a birth year with this album, and Green Day’s Dookie. These highs are offset by the death of Kurt Cobain and the birth of Justin Bieber. Began my love for Oasis.

6. Take This To Your Grave – Fall Out Boy (2003)

Saturday, Grand Theft Autumn, The Pros and Cons of Breathing

If kids now are listening to FOB’s newest album, plus the new song they just released, I hope they listen to this straight afterwards. Proper poppy emo-punk.

5. Shallow Believer – The Used (2008)

Sun Comes Up, Slit Your Own Throat, Tunnel

Like Yellowcard, The Used aren’t one of my favourite bands, but this album is amazing. A rare occasion where I never have to skip a song.

4. Warning – Green Day (2000)

Fashion Victim, Castaway, Deadbeat Holiday

Another CD that spends regular time in my car. Dookie got me into Green Day, Warning got me through school with them. Plus it has Minority on it.

3. Hybrid Theory – Linkin Park (2000)

In The End, One Step Closer, Points of Authority

This album goes back to the ‘dossin out’ days in primary school. Which maybe gives an insight into how why I never went through the chav phase everyone seems to have done.

2. blink-182 – blink-182 (2003)

I’m Lost Without You, Asthenia, Feeling This

My favourite band, one of my favourite album covers, my favourite song from my favourite band, everything about this album is perfect. Blink’s best album by a mile, love it. Not number one though…

1. Use Your Illusion II – Guns N’ Roses (1991)

Estranged, 14 Years, Yesterdays

The top album on the list is also the oldest, shows what I think of new music. Estranged might well be in this position on a top songs list, and it might well be soon if I do one. The last proper Guns album, the best Guns album.

All done! That was harder than I thought, I have come up a list of about 50 since I started this so I might revisit this in a few month’s time.

The first part of this list is below, along with my other lists to date.

My previous lists: Top 10 Actors, Creepy or Common 1, Top 22 Albums 22-11

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

About Darren Hyland

If I don't see you, good afternoon good evening and goodnight! Check the About Darren page for a bit more on me.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Creepy or common: Part two | dazaroofortyfour - March 21, 2013

Leave a Reply

